A blog advocating autism through my own personal experiences and insights.

Two days ago was my birthday and I turned 25. A quarter of a century. Halfway through my twenties. I’m the same age when my dad married my mom. However you want to look at it. And if I feel any different, it’s only the realisation that I’m a mortal being with only so many years in this world. I don’t take a negative view on this, however, (I don’t believe that death is the end anyway, but that’s another story). Rather, I take it, cliché as this may sound, as a reminder to live my life to the fullest.

And I’ve illustrated many times in this blog I’ve developed and the strategies I’ve used and keep on using to attain my goals, whether they be personal or interpersonal and how to balance my pursuit of them. For example, I’m very much academically driven and have been my whole life, but as I develop I find interpersonal and extroverted desires catching up for my attention. For example, I still attain my other social desires that I tell in this previous post My Developing Social Desires.

In my last post, I talked about how I was dealing with these two goals by still deciding to do my PhD in pure math at the University of Waterloo, but looking beyond the university in the Kitchener-Waterloo area in general for opportunities for pursuing my interpersonal goals to lead another life separate from my academics. Quite interestingly enough, the city is home to another university Wilfrid Laurier University. It’s a smaller university, but while it does have a lot of students, it reminds me a bit of my undergrad university Acadia and so I was instantly comfortable there. In fact, I’ve turned it into another outlet for pursuing my social goals. I’ve joined clubs there and doing different activities. It’s a really neat solution because while it is still an academic institution, it’s completely separate from the university I’m doing my PhD at and it’s only a walk down the street from U of Waterloo. Due to the convenience of this solution I’m finding it easier to balance my goals. It’s rather like being an undergrad back at Acadia again and I always loved the life of an undergrad student.

A couple of the new clubs I’ve joined include Acts of Random Kindness and the Harry Potter Alliance Club. Acts of Random Kindness is about doing just that: acts of random kindness. Things we have done so far include writing compliments down on cards, painting over them, and just handing them to people to scratch. We have also been part of a mental health walk at Laurier where we gave out free hugs, which I loved, as I’m a very cuddly person! The Harry Potter Alliance club is basically a Harry Potter fan club where we do fun things and do things with regards to the morals that are illustrated in the Harry Potter series. I’m meeting new people there and it feels like going to a new school even though I’m not officially a Laurier student. And even though I feel completely comfortable there, I suspect it will take a while to get used to the new place like it was for Acadia and Waterloo. But it certainly looks like I have 4 happy years ahead in Waterloo.

Comments on: "Who I am as a Social Being at 25" (1)

  1. I love the idea of a random acts of kindness group. The giver and the recipient both feel better.

Leave a Reply

